‘Mooning

I’ve been married for 24 days. It’s been pretty awesome so far. It’s also been pretty much the same as before, but without the sword of Damocles dangling above our heads the entire time. So that definitely feels good.

If you are my friend on Facebook or have seen the background of my phone, you’ve probably seen this picture. If not, here is our “main” sort of photo that we’ll also be using for our thank-you cards (we ARE sending them out, just give us some time. Did you think we were going to immediately go home and start writing them?)

Jay’s sister came all the way from California (4 kids and husband in tow) to be there and to be our photographer. She did our engagement photos a year ago this week in California and she does really excellent work. There’s a link to her website on the sidebar of this blog if you’d care to have a look (I may need to update it though).

Kelly, Jay and I want to thank you from the deepest parts of our hearts for doing this for us. We had a great time with everything and we sincerely hope you and your family did to (we all know Kiki did!). Looking forward to the rest of the batch!

Last weekend we went on our honeymoon to the Timber Creek Bed and Breakfast in Paxton, IL. It wasn’t swanky, but it was definitely us. We stayed in the “Rustic Cabin” which was the only lodging separate from the main building where other couples were staying. I had pictures on my phone…and I e-mailed them to myself…but apparently I didn’t. They were mostly of the cabin, the outhouse (oh yes we did) and the various kitty cats who were ambling about the place (including in one of our window boxes):

There wasn’t a ton to DO in Paxton, but we brought games, movies and books to read (and we did all three of them…sometimes at the same time!!). Additionally, there was a used bookstore that we found while searching for the bowling alley. By “bookstore” I mean there was a guy renting out a business space in which he had tables set up alongside the walls with piles of books on them. We spent about $23 on something like 7 or 8 books (and the director’s edition of Bladerunner on VHS). Then we came back to our cozy cabin and read while we ate hot dogs. It was perfect, it was us.

Here’s my plug for the place: If you ever want to have a nice getaway, this place is definitely worth it. It’s about an hour away on Route 9. The lady who runs the place is very nice and makes one hell of a breakfast. And there are kitties everywhere! What’s not to love?!

P.S. If I ever get those pictures I e-mailed to myself in my e-mail, I’ll be sure to post them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Mooning

  1. Diane says:

    OK…enough about the thank-you’s. I said too much…sorry.

    • omnydevotchka says:

      I realize there is an etiquette about it, but it wasn’t like I didn’t thank those who gifted me while I was in the same room as them. They will still receive a thank-you card though, because everyone could always use at least one more picture of us on their fridge. ^_^

Leave a comment